People can joke about the Buffalo Bills losing four straight Super Bowls in the 1990s. They can try to discredit Buffalo’s four years of dominance.

Those people, however, clearly don’t know a lot about football, especially the history of it.

The Bills went 49-15 from 1990-93 and made the playoffs eight times in nine seasons from 1988-96 under Marv Levy. They advanced to the Super Bowl four straight years, ultimately losing to the Giants, Redskins and Cowboys (twice).

The Bills lost the first of those Super Bowls, 20-19, to New York, this after Scott Norwood missed the potential game-winning 47-yard field goal as time expired, and they lost their final Super Bowl, 30-13, to Dallas, this after leading 13-6 at halftime.

“Things happen for reasons,” Hall of Fame wide receiver Andre Reed said on CBS Sports Radio’s Gio and Jones. “Those four losses taught a lot, I think, about what it meant to get there. It’ll never happen again. It’s a (statement) for what’s going on in the league right now. All these guys are trying to get to just one. if you get to two, you’re blessed. But if you get to four in a row, come on, man. It just so happens we were not the best team on one day. We were the best team in a generation.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live